Archive for Spiders

Black Elk Medicine Band ‘Santa Ana’ 7″ now available!

Posted in Black Elk Medicine Band, New Releases with tags , , , on May 20, 2013 by Secret Serpents

Our most recent release, Black Elk Medicine Band, is now available through our online store HERE! Listed below are a few other places that carry our releases!

San Francisco: 
Aquarius Records
1055 Valencia Street
San Francisco, California 94110
tel 415.647.2272

San Diego:
Thirsty Moon Records
525 A Evans Place
San Diego, CA 92103
tel 619-542-1500

All That Is Heavy
Midheaven Mailorder
Thrill Jockey Records

We also have the original artwork by Alan Forbes available that comes with a copy of the record on colored vinyl (only 50 on colored vinyl were made!). Click HERE for more info!


Check out Aquarius Records recent review of the Black Elk Medicine Band – Santa Ana single:

The latest from local label Valley King, is the first release from Black Elk Medicine Band, the solo project of Isaiah Mitchell of recent aQ Record Of The Weekers Golden Void, as well as psych rock shredders Earthless, and in BEMB, at least on this single, Mitchell is joined by Phil Manley (Trans Am, Life Coach, The Fucking Champs, etc.) and John McBain of the mighty Monster Magnet (and Carlton Melton!). You’d never know it on the B side, which just happens to be the one we listened to first – a dark, brooding, seventies sounding psychedelic drift, swirling soft tangles of slow burn guitar shred smolder, draped over a thick, ominous sprawl of sinister synth buzz, sounding like Mitchell’s homage to Funkadelic’s “Maggot Brain”, the same sort of dark psych brood, tense and emotional and moody.

But flip the record over, and Mitchell and crew let loose with a heady barrage of spaced out psych that wouldn’t sound out of place on a Golden Void or Earthless record. A simple skeletal programed rhythm pulses away beneath clouds of heavily flanged riffage, and yep, some seriously soaring heart of the sun shredding, sounding almost like a snippet of a much longer jam, fading in, the action already underway, the band locked into some seriously tripped out psychedelic mesmer, Mitchell laying down another blast of tangled super emotive guitar god leads, over a tranced out motorik background, eventually fading out, as if the actual jam, the one we just got a single side glimpse of, continued well on into the forever.

LIMITED TO 500 NUMBERED COPIES!! In a swank sleeve featuring all new artwork from artist Alan Forbes, each one signed!

Black Elk Medicine Band



We have also found some copies of some of our sold out singles! Click on the images for more information!

VKR703 – Golden Void “The Curve” 7″

Golden Void


VKR704 – Spiders “Nothing Like You” 7″



VKR705 – Anywhere “Pyramid Mirrors” 7″



 VKR706 – Anywhere “Infrared Moses” 7″





Colored vinyl on eBay!

Posted in Anywhere, Carlton Melton, Spiders, Uncategorized with tags , , , , on April 4, 2012 by Secret Serpents

We just listed colored vinyl copies of the Valley King Records releases on eBay! Each copy is limited to only 50 copies! Also, the covers on each are printed on different paper than the editions of 500.

Click HERE for more info!



SPIDERS single out in March, pre-order now!

Posted in New Releases, Spiders with tags on February 20, 2011 by Secret Serpents

Hailing from Gothenburg, Sweden, SPIDERS mix garage punk and early hard rock with bluesy melodies. The band is fronted by Ann-Sofie Hoyles – a female lead singer possessing an awesome voice with attitude. In addition to that we find guitarist John Hoyes (from Witchcraft), drummer Axel Sjöberg (from Graveyard), and bass player Matteo Gambacorta (from Midwest) in the line-up. SPIDERS’ songs reveal the bands incredible songwriting prowess and the music is full of energy and raw rock riffs.

SPIDERS was formed in Gothenburg in February 2010. A few months later the band appeared at one of Sweden’s most successful music festivals, Way Out West. It was around this time SPIDERS for the first time as a band stepped into the studio with producer Don Ahlsterberg (The Soundtrack of Our Lives, International Noise Conspiracy, Jose Gonzalez) and started recording.

John Hoyles – Guitar
Ann-Sofie Hoyles – Vocals
Matteo Gambacorta – Bass
Axel Sjöberg – Drums

Deluxe limited edition “Nothing Like You” 7″ available March 2011

Limited to 500 copies
Silkscreened packaging
Signed and numbered by artist Alan Forbes
Exclusive SPIDERS vinyl sticker

Click HERE to pre-order!